Colin Woz Ere (Most of the Time) by Under the Dome

Under the Dome

Colin Woz Ere (Most of the Time)

12 tracks

Running time: 1:08:23
Released: 06/2005

Buy MP3 $9.99
Buy FLAC $11.24

  01   Meet Me In St Mary's - 1:11

  02   Launch - 6:55

  03   Dream Sequence - 4:58

  04   The Bridge - 4:55

  05   Event Horizon - 4:31

  06   Hell - 6:40
Play song

  07   Solar Gravity - 8:16

  08   Sodium Lite - 7:36

  09   Philadelphia Experiment - 4:26

  10   The Forest Road - 7:25

  11   Return - 6:27

  12   The Long Rain - 5:03

More Info

The germs of this album were first released as a VERY limited edition CDR without any artwork called 'Colin Woz Ere' (please note that this is a different album to the similarly titled 'What No Colin'). The first seven tracks were taken from their 'Gatherings' concert in the US 1n 2003. 'Meet Me In St Mary's' is basically an introduction of the band by the host 'Chuck van Zyl'. The first track proper is the fantastic 'Launch'. The sound of a space ship engine firing up gets things going then a ball breaking sequence blasts us off. A second splashing sequence engages the warp drive. Wonderful lead lines, some quite different to the album version, act like wondrous stellar visions seen from our craft's observation deck. Warp nine is reached as a rhythm materialises in the middle of the mix. Gentle guitar refrains float from the speakers as 'Dream Sequence' gets underway. This is a track which hasn't appeared on either of the band's studio albums. The sequence powers up, acting like a lead line in its own right, twisting this way and that wonderfully.

Bass pulsations let rip in almost Dr Who fashion for 'The Bridge'. This has always been an awesomely powerful track but during the gig they really let rip with some excellent electric guitar pyrotechnics courtesy of Colin giving that extra oomph. 'Event Horizon' is very different to the album version, with an even darker and moodier start than ever before. The sequence arrives after about a minute, as bass laden as in the previous track, rolling forward with steamroller power, explosions erupting in the background. This sense of power continues right through to 'Hell'. A synth lead line fairly bounces over the top then the guitar echoes it. Things build to awesome proportions, the synths and guitar duelling against each other as we go. 'Solar Gravity' is appropriately rather cosmic but also rather haunting, again very different to the album version. The sequences do of course break through mixing with the guitar lead perfectly. Things then start to go really ape and we end with the inevitable explosion.

The next two tracks were completely new to this album and haven't appeared on any other album since. 'Sodium Lite' starts with a slow brooding sequence which morphs wonderfully until a second sequence falls into formation. A bass pulse acts almost like an excited heartbeat. 'Philadelphia Experiment' is straight into sequence after sequence each bouncing off the other whilst melodic pads whoosh in and out of the mix. A lovely retro sounding lead line completes the picture.

On the original 'Colin Woz Ere' the album finished with a twenty minute interview. Instead of that on this album we get three tracks from Under The Dome's 2005 National Space Centre performance and other than on the 'Virtual Ticket' to that event see the light of day for the first time. 'The Forest Road' is all new music and has never appeared on any other Under The Dome album before. Another slow deep bass pulse reverberates from the speakers. A mournful lead line cries out. It is all rather Tangerine Dream 'Sorcerer' sounding. A brighter sequence makes its entrance as the track gradually builds to become a melodic stunner. I believe that this is the most recently composed UTD track and if so it makes me completely desperate for the new album (which unfortunately isn't even on the drawing board yet). Speaking of melodic stunners though they really don't get much better than 'Return'. The sequence and lead line combination are exquisite, talking to one's very soul. When the second lead comes in simple words such as beautiful seem so inadequate. We finish this incredible album with the rather tranquil 'The Long Rain'. It cools our fevered brow and steadies our hand just in time to press the play button once again. (DL)